Clohisey and Mageean take Dublin Cross-Country titles

img_6147img_6183On a bitterly cold day at Santry, Mick Clohisey of Raheny Shamrock and UCD’s Ciara Mageean won the senior titles at the Dublin Cross-County Championships.

Mageean raced away from defending champion Caroline Crowley of Crusaders on the final lap of the women’s race. A surprise third was Barbara Cleary of Donore, who finished ahead of Ciara Durkan from Skerries and DSD’s Maria McCambridge.

In the men’s race, Conor Dooney attempted to stay with with his club mate Clohisey on the opening lap but Clohisey stretched away for a comfortable victory. Conor Dooney finished second ahead of younger brother Kevin, making it a Raheny clean sweep. Donore pair Eric Keogh and John Travers finished fourth and fifth.

Two stalwarts of the sport who left us during the year were remembered when it came to the team awards. Winning the Jim McNamara Perpetual Trophy were the DSD women, while taking the Padraig Keane Perpetual Trophy were the Raheny men.

  • Paul Pollock finished fifth in the Leeds Abbey Dash 10km with a time of 29 mins 29 secs. Kevin Seaward was 15th in 30:02.

Results –

img_6203Women – Senior: 1 Ciara Mageean (UCD), 2 Caroline Crowley (Crusaders), 3 Barbara Cleary (Donore), 4 Ciara Durkan (Skerries), 5 Maria McCambridge (DSD) . Teams – 1 DSD, 2 Crusaders, 3 Donore Harriers.

Men РSenior: 1 Mick Clohisey  (Raheny Shamrock), 2 Conor Dooney (Raheny Shamrock), 3 Kevin Dooney (Raheny Shamrock), 4 Eric Keogh (Donore Hrs), 5 John Travers (Donore Hrs). Teams Р1 Raheny Shamrock, 2 Donore Harriers, 3 DSD.

Pics at


, , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply