Heffernan Wins 15th Title; Plus round-up

Ciaran O Lionaird ran a personal best 3:52.10 to finish third in the Wanamaker Mile at the Millrose Games and move up to fourth on the all-time Irish list. O Lionaird’s 1500m split time was 3:36.85 – well inside the Euro Indoors mark of 3:43. Lopez Lomong won the race in a sprint from Matt Centrowitz; winning time 3:51.21.
In the High Schools mile, Cillian Kirwan  of St Fintan’s High School Sutton ran 4:22.84 to finish 9th. The St Fintan’s  4x800m quartet of  Eoin Strutt, Kirwan, Kevin Eccles and Andrew McMorrow ran 8:22.52 to finish 10th.

* Race walker Robert Heffernan won his 15th national indoor title and pole vaulter David Donegan his ninth at the opening day of the Aviva Irish Indoor Championships in Athlone.
Heffernan clocked a time of 19:13.03 on his way to victory. In the pole vault, Donegan went over 4.60m for victory. Defending champion Laura Reynolds won the women’s 3km walk – the opening event of the day – in 13:05.84.
In the women’s 3000m, Leevale’s Lizzie Lee  came home first in 9:45.63.
Closest fought competition of the day was the women’s long jump. Ferrybank’s Kelly Proper won her eighth title with a jump of 5.91, but was pushed hard by Mandy McLoone just five centimetres behind on 5.86 and Lyndsey Herron on 5.78. The qualification for the European Indoors is 6.45m. 
Proper also qualified for the 60m final with a time of 7.50 and for the 200m final. Fastest qualifier was defending  champion Amy Foster (City of Lisburn), whose time of 7.33 qualifies her for the European Indoors (7.36 is the mark). Also through to the final is Ailis McSweeney (Leevale) with a time of 7.54.  
Fastest qualifier for the men’s 400m was Tim Crowe on 48.71. David Hynes (Menapians) was the fastest of the 60m men in 6.80. Action tomorrow (Sun) starts with the women’s 1500m final at 2pm. 

*Both Derval O’Rourke and Claire Tarplee had useful work-outs at the British Athletics Grand Prix in Birmingham.
O’Rourke who had run 8.11 a week earlier in Sheffield and then 8.08 in France a few days later,  led until 45m  in the 60m hurdles and then tightened up to finish sixth with a time of 8.15. With three hard races under her belt, she will sit out the Woodie’s DIY Irish Championships in Athlone as a precaution. 
Tarplee, who ran 4:14.58 in Vienna last month, was seventh in the 1500m in 4:15.58. In the men’s 3000m, Stephen Scullion ran a personal best 7:58.11 for seventh place and a place at the European Indoors. Winner was Mo Farah on 7:42.00.
* Ailish Malone and Cillian O’Leary were the winners at the Garda BHAA Cross-Country in Dublin’s Phoenix Park. Despite the clash with a BHAA race and a charity race in Skerries, the Parkrun 5km in Malahide still attracted a massive entry of 326, with Ciaran McCarthy and Angela McCann the first man and woman home.
* Marathon Mission member Barry Minnock  of Rathfarnham WSAF won the Donadea 50km with a time of 3 hrs 5 mins 2 secs.  Mayo ultra man John Byrne was over two minutes behind for second in 3:07.40. At the Mount Juliet 10km, Barbara Sanchez  (Raheny Shamrock) was fourth overall and first woman; Tom Hogan (SBR) won the half marathon.  
Thanks Tom Hunt for the pics!
* In Flagstaff,  Irish-American Tori Pena equalled her Irish pole vault record when she cleared 4.45m at the first attempt and then had three failures at 4.55m. Pena has already qualified for the European Indoors. 

Saturday February 16 
British Athletics Grand Prix, Birmingham
Women – 60m H: 1 Danielle Carruthers (USA) 8.11….6 Derval O’Rourke (Leevale) 8.15.
1500m: 1 Genzebe Dibaba (Eth) 4:00.83….7 Claire Tarplee (DSD) 4.15.58.
Men – 3000m: 1 Mo Farah (GBR) 7.42.00….7 Stephen Scullion (Ireland) 7:58.11.

Garda BHAA Cross-Country, Phoenix Park, Dublin.
Women’s 2 Mile: 1 Ailish Malone (CRC) 12.31, 2 Laura Shaughnessy 12.41, 3 Niamh Boland (Google) 12.47, 4 Paula Grant ( Sec Teachers, W35) 12.57, 5 Helen White (Blackhill Heathlawn, W45) 13.01. 6 Sharon Grant (Sec Teachers) 13.19. W35: 2 Karen McDonnell (Gardai) 13.56, 3 Hilary McGee (Ulster Bank) 14.24. W40: 1 Lesley Evans (Sec Teachers) 14.38, 2 Martina Farrell (St Jos College) 15.20, 3 Bernie Stapleton (Accountant) 15.41. W45: 2 Jacqui Boyle (Butler & Boyle) 13.30, 3 Sharon Tighe 13.31. W50: 1 Sheelagh Jones (Sec Teachers) 14.07, 2 Patricia Sheehan (HSE) 16.22, 3 Deirdre McDonnell (Revenue) 17.07. W55: 1 Nuala Reilly (Fair Gate Health Centre) 14.46, 2 Mary Jennings (Sec Teachers) 15.16. W60:Eileen O’Brien (SJOG) 17.11. W65: Evelyn McNelis (Primary Teachers) 16.31. Teams – 1 Hospitals A 50, 2 Gardai 59, 3 Teachers A 71.
Open 4-Mile: 1 Cillian O’Leary (Sec Teachers) 21.47, 2 Sam Mealy 22.00, 3 Bernard Roe (Gerard Labs) 22.08, 4 Phil Kilgannon (Mistycroft) 22.21, 5 Neil Wiktorski 23.20, 6 Michael Lyons 23.29. M35: 1 Chris Muldoon (Swords Labs) 23.39; 2 Karl Fitzmaurice (Revenue) 23.41, 3 Paul O’Connell (IT Self-Employed) 24.20. M40: 1 Clyde Dunne (Dunne Garden Services) 23.36, 2 Ciaran Diviney (AIB) 24.37, 3 David Hipwell (An Post) 25.01. M45: 1 Damien Martin 23.34, 2 Paul Cowhie (CMS) 23.40, 3 Paul Gleeson (An Post) 24.01. M50: 1 Brian Furey (Diageo Guinness) 24.34, 2 Gerry O’Connell (Marino Inst of Ed) 24.56, 3 Aidan O’Gara (Eircom) 26.10. Women – 1 Elish Kelly 24.26. TeamsA: 1 Pfizer 51, 2 Swords Labs 52, 3 Eircom 168.

Parkrun 5km, Malahide (326 finishers; www.parkrun.ie)
Men: 1 Ciaran McCarthy M35 16.47 (PB), 2 Richard O’Carroll 16.52 (PB), 3 Andrew Haydu M35 17.11. Women: 1 Angela McCann (W40) 18.30, 2 Joyce O’Hare (Clonliffe Hrs) 20.14 (PB), 3 Mairead Mulligan (Fingallians AC, W35) 21.20 (PB).

Skerries RFC Charity 5km Fun Run (339 finishers; www. Championchipireland.com)
Men:1 James Cloney 16.01, 2 Gavin O’Roukre 16.04, 3 Kieron Peters 16.25. 
Women: 1 Ciara Durkan 16.56, 2 Isabel Carron 18.45, 3 Sarah Byrne 21.05. 

Barry Minnock (pic Tom Hunt)

Donadea 50km, Donadea Forest Park, Co Kildare. (94 finishers; www.redtagtiming.com).

Men:1 Barry Minnock (Rathfarnham WSAF, M35) 3:05.02, 2 John Byrne (Mayo AC, M35) 3:07.40, 3 Peter Mooney (100 Mara Club) 3:17.42, 4 Rory Mooney (100 Mara Club) 3:18.39, 5 Padraig Mac Criostail (Rathfarnham WSAF, M40) 3:24.6, 6 Sean Brosnan 3:24.52. M45: Vasily Neumerzhitskiy (100 Mara Club) 3:31.13. M55:Kevin Ecock (Celbridge) 4:49.42. 
Women:1 Olwyn Dunne (Crusaders, W45) 4:00.28, 2 Aoife O’Donnell 4:33.12, 3 Deirdre Finn(Bilboa, W45) 4:43.38, 4 Cora Grimes (GCH, W35) 4:44.19, 5 Caroline McLoughlin 4:46.27, 6 Donna McLoughlin 4:55.48.  


Clonakilty Back-to-Back Marathons Day 1 (149 finishers; www.championchipireland.com; www.clonakiltyback2backmarathons.com)
Men:1 Ian James (Wrexham AAC) 2:54.41, 2 James Slowey 9St Finbarr’s) 3:10.15, 3 Paul Bessell 3:11.33. Women: 1 Sharon Woods (Mallow AC) 3:28.09, 2 Ann Cashman (Eagle AC) 3:31.16, 3 Caroline Kelly (Marathon Club Ireland) 3:39.47. 

Run Mount Juliet 10km and Half Marathon (www.totaltiming.ie)
10km(624 finishers) – Men: 1 Declan Power M40 34.57 2 Alban Coghlan 36.03, 3 David Comber 36.03, 4 Barbara Sanchez (Raheny Shamrock) 36.15. Women: 2 Adele Walsh 9St Senan’s) 41.48, 3 Aoife O’Connor 44.18.
Half Marathon (329 finishers)- Men: 1 Tom Hogan (SBR) 70.38, 2 Philip Harty (W Waterfod) 71.59, 3 Raivis Zakis (W Waterford) 74.40. Women:1 Martina O’Dwyer (Carrick-on-Suir) 85.21, 2 Aoife Quigley (Crusaders) 93.34, 3 Triish Synnott W40 98.34 


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply