Masters Indoors: Hat tricks for Gough and Bechtina.

West Waterford’s Joe Gough lived up to expectations when he made it an M60 hat trick in the 200m, 400m and 800m at the Irish Life Health National Masters Indoors in Athlone today. Gough ran 27.71 secs for the 200m 60.43 secs for the 400m and 2:17.18 for the 800m.

Also notching up a  treble was Snezana Bechtina  of Clonliffe Harriers who won the W65 60m, 200m and 400m in times of 8.09 secs, 26.26 secs, and 58.90 secs respectively.  Her clubmate Ciara Peelo, a former Olympic sailor, finished second  behind her in both 200m and 400m.

Sligo’s John McDermott  won the M70 200m and 400m after finishing second in the 60m behind many times champion Brendan Dennehy  of Rising Sun. In the field, Clonliffe’s Marcin Klinkosz  won the M35 high jump with an impressive 1.86 and also took the shot with 11.60m.

Other double winners included Shane Sheridan of DSD  in the M55 50m and 200 and Leevale’s John Corr in the M45 60m and 200m.  Over the longer distances, Martin McEvilly  of Galway City Harriers won the 1500m and 3000m in the M65 class.

World champion Brian Lynch  of North East Runners  was a comfortable winner of the M60 3000m in an excellent time of 10 mins 9.48 secs, while Denise Toner of Clones  produced an equally classy performance to win the W35 1500m in 4:36.23.  Fractionally slower was Niamh Fitzgerald  of Lucan Harriers who won the W40 title in 4:47.36.  Over 3000m, Toner finished second behind Kathryn Casserly  of Galway City Harriers

Riocht’s Ger Cremin  was a good winner of the M35 60m hurdles, with his clubmate Jer O’Donoghue  winning the M35 60m sprint.

The 4 x 200m relays attracted a healthy entry with Lucan Harriers clear winners of the women’s race and Templemore pushed hard by Waterford for the men’s title.

Irish Masters Indoors, Athlone 

Irish Masters Indoors (selected)
60m – W35: Snezana Bechtina (Clonliffe) 8.09 secs, 2 Avril Dillon (DSD). 200m – W35: Bechtina,26.26; 2 Ciara Peelo (Clonliffe) 27.91. W50: Geraldine Finnegan (NER) 28.70. W55: Dannea Herron 34.59. W60: Hazel Galloway 34.57. 400m – W45: Bechtina 58.98, 2 Peelo 61.95. W50: Finnegan 65.88.
800m – W40: Caitriona Devine (Finn Valley) 2:24.00. W45: 1 Bridget Clarke (Na Fianna) 2:38.23, 2 Cathryn Brady (DSD) 2: 39.33, 3 Vanessa Sallier (Rathfarnham AC) 2: 39.54. W60: Pauline Moran (Mayo AC) 2:47.15.
1500m – W35: Denise Toner (Clones) 4:46.23. W40: Niamh Fitzgerald (Lucan Hrs) 4:47.36. W45: Jackie Carey (Kilmore) 4:54.40. W50: Cathryn Brady (DSD) 5:29.55. W60: Moran 5:43.67.
3000m: – W35: 1 Kathryn Casserly (GCH) 10:14.99. 2 Toner 10:20.91. W40: Maria McCarthy (Farranfore MV) 10:23.42. W50: Orla Gormleyy (Raheny Shamrock) 11:28.12.

60m H – W40: Emma Smith (Orangegrove) 10.58. W45: Isabell Breslin (Finn V) 11.56
HJ – W40: Ani Rebekka (MSB) 1.40.
SP – W35: Ger Stewart (Tir Conaill) 11.64.
4 x 200m – Women: Lucan Harriers 2:01.55, 2 GCH 2:04.13, 3 Celbridge 2:10.98, 4 Fingallians 2:12.87.

60m – M35: Jer O’Donoghue (Riocht) 7.29. M45: John Corr (Leevale) 7.43. M50: David Hayde 7.63. M55: Shane Sheridan (DSD) 7.83. M60: Peadar McGing (DSD) 8.39. M70: Brendan Dennehy (Rising Sun) 8.88
200m – M35: Colm Lynch 23.85. M45: Corr 24.68. M50: David Hayde 24.82. M55: Sheridan 25.79. M60: Joe Gough (W Waterford) 27.71. M65: Matt Slattery (Clonliffe) 28.98. M70: John McDermott 30.07.
400m – M35: Brendan Leahy 53.55. M40: Kevin Lynch 53.06. M45: Donal Iremonger (Donore) 55.18. M55: Michael Cornyn (Dunshaughlin) 61.77. M60: Gough 60.43. M70: John McDermott 67.08.
800m – M35: Dermot McDermott (Sligo) 2:03.17. M40: Paul Fleming (Rathfarnham) 2:08.20. M45: Ken Archbold 2:08.70. M60: Gough 2:17.18.
1500m -M35: Niall Sheil 4:16.81. M40: John Fenlon 4:10.55. M45: Mark O’Shea 4:11.69. M50: Pat Malone (Newbridge) 4:30.65. M60: Martin McDonald (Ballyroan and Dist) 5:28.98. M65: Martin McEvilly (GCH) 5:51.41.
3000m– M35: Paul Moloney 8:58.95. M50: Colm Burke (St Abban’s) 9:42.74. M55: Tom O’Connor (Liffey Valley) 10:10.02. M60: Brian Lynch (NER) 10:09.48. M65: McEvilly 12:16.71.
HJ – M35: Marcin Klinkosz (Clonliffe) 1.86. M45: Kevin Byrne (DSD) 1.60. M65: Mick Priest (St Murphy’s)1.38.
LJ – M35: Danny Meaney (Templemore) 5.61. M45: Pascall Halley (Waterford) 5.17. M55: Patrick Mahon (Gowran AC) 4.99. M65: Willie O’Toole (StLOT) 4.17m
SP – M35: Marcin Klinkosz (Clonliffe) 11.60. M50: Seamus FitzPatrick (Portlaoise) 11.95. M60: Patsy O’Connor
(Tralee Hrs) 13.85.
56lb for dist – M35: Thomas Bouchier (Ferrybank) 5.78.
4 x 200m: 1 Templemore AC 1:43.66, 2 Waterford AC 1:44.25 (M35), 3 Annalee AC 1:50.71, 4 GCH 1:51.23 (M40) 5 Kilcoole AC 1:57.63.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply