Records Tumble at Intervarsity Indoors

Phil Healy

Phil Healy

Phil Healy, in her first year at UCC, proved the star of the Irish Universities Track and Field Championships in Athlone when she ran a time of 7.36 secs – a new Irish U23  and university record.

In the men’s 200m, Marcus Lawler  of Carlow IT improved on his own Irish junior record with a time of 21.36 – another IUAA best. UL’s Thomas Barr’s time of 46.97 secs in the 400m was yet another records, as was UCD’s Sarah Lavin’s time of   of 8.36 secs for the 60m hurdles.

There were new records in both men and women’s pole vault for DCU’s Ian Rogers with 4.70m and Claire Wilkinson  of UU with  3.95m. Other record breakers were DCU’s Sarah McCarthy with 5.83m in the long jump,  and Cathriona Farrell, also DCU, with 1.81 in the high jump.

DCU’s Steven Colvert, now coached by John Shields, won the 60m, running a PB 6.87 secs in the heats and 6.88 secs in the final, where UCD’s Jamie Davis and Marcus Lawler were second and third.  Over the longer distances, John Travers of AIT won the 1500m in a new record of 3:42.69, beating DCU’s David McCarthy. Earlier, McCarthy had finished third in the 800m, won by Niall Tuohy of UL. UCD’s Ellie Hartnett’s time of 4:34.94 for the women’s 1500m was also a new IUAA record. Eric Keogh won the men’s 3000m; UCC’s Sinead O’Connor led home the women.

UCD’s Ciara Everard competed in an open women’s 800m, but although she ran a fast first 400m,  faded  to finish in 2:06.06. Winning the intervarsity 800m was Masry Anne O’Sillivan of DCU in 2:17.66.

Overall winners in both men and women’s competition were DCU.

, ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply