Schools: Wins for O’Leary, Murphy and Healy at Santry

Although Sean O’Leary came home a comfortable winner of the senior boys’ race, St Aidan’s CBS failed to make it three in a row at the Irish Life Health Leinster Schools Cross-Country Championships in Santry yesterday.

In dry, firm conditions, O’Leary made his move about halfway through the race, leaving Cormac Dalton of St Joseph’s Rochfortbridge, Jamie Battle of Colaiste Mhuire Mullingar and Brian Fay of Belvedere to battle it out for the minor placings.With the finish in sight, Dalton made an attempt to catch O’Leary but it was too little too late.

When it came to the team placings, Colaiste Mhuire were the clear winners with 59 points, St Aidan’s, the current All Ireland champions, were second on 98 points and Knockbeg College a close third on 100 points.

A clear winner of the senior girls’ 2.5km race was Sophie Murphy from Mount Anville who stretched out the field from the start. Second was Jodie McCann of Institute of Education, while third was Eimear O’Brien from Dominican Wicklow, Loreto Mullingar, led by Alana Bates, proved best of the teams, followed by East Glendalough and Loreto St Stephen’s Green.

With Amy Rose Farrell of Mount Anville out of action through injury, the inter girl’s 3.5km race turned into a show-down between Sarah Healy of Holy Child Killiney and Wesley’s ‘s Abi Taylor.

Taylor forced the pace from the start, but with a lap to go, Healy moved to the front and quickly built up a substantial lead. Taylor finished second with Annie McEvoy of Loreto Kilkenny overtaking Roisin Treacy of St Gerard’s Bray for third.

With Taylor well supported by Grace Dervan and Lara Gillespie, Wesley finished best of the teams on 31 points, beating Loreto Kilkenny and Loreto Balbriggan.

The black and white hoops of St Kieran’s Kilkenny dominated the boy’s inter race, with Adam Fitzpatrick in firstplace and Shay McEvoy second helping to ensure team victory for their school. Second was Colaiste Mhuire, with St Aidan’s third.

Winning the boys’ junior race in style was Sean Donoghue of St Declan’s Cabra. Alex O Floinn of Colaiste Eoin was second and Matthew Whelan of Naas CBS third, with Colaiste Mhuire beating St Aidan’s for the team honours.

Loreto schools proved unbeatable in the junior schools race, with Loreto Kilkenny best of the teams, followed by Loreto Mullingar and Loreto St Stephen’s Green. Individual winner of the race was Aine Kirwan of Loreto Kilkenny, who was followed home by Nessa Reilly of St Vincent’s Dundalk and Orla Reidy of Maynooth PP.

Best of the minor girls’ schools was the St Dominic’s Cabra trio of Kate Harold, Leah Pigeon and Alex Corr. Individual winner was  Ava O’Connor of Scoil Chriost Ri.

Victor Esoga not only won the minor boys’ race, but led St Joseph’s Drogheda to team victory. Best overall schools were the Colaiste Mhuire boys and the Loreto Kilkenny girls.

The top 15 individuals and three teams qualify for the All ireland at Mallusk on March 11.

A few pics at

Minor: 1 Ava O’Connor (Scoil Chriost Ri), 2. Eimear Maher (Mount Anville), 3. Doireann Ni Fhlatharta (St Peter’s Dunboyne). Teams – 1 St Dominic’s Cabra, 2 Scoil Chriost Ri, 3 Mount Sackville.

Junior: 1 Aine Kirwan (Loreto Kilkenny), 2 Neasa Reilly (St Vincent’s Dundalk), 3 Orla Reidy (Maynooth PP). Teams – 1 Loreto Kilkenny 28, 2 Loreto Mullingar 46, 3 Loreto St Stephen’s Green 52.

Inter: 1 Sarah Healy (Holy Child Killiney), 2 Abi Taylor (Wesley), 3 Annie McEvoy (Loreto Kilkenny). Teams – 1 Wesley 31, 2 Loreto Kilkenny 53, 3 Loreto Balbriggan 56.

Senior: 1 Sophie Murphy (Mount Anville), 2 Jodie McCann (Institute of Education), 3 Emma O’Brien (DCW). Teams – 1 Loreto Mullingar 42, 2 East Glendalough 51, 3 Loreto St Stephen’s Green63.
Best overall – 1  Loreto Kilkenny, 2 Loreto Mullingar, 3 St Dominic’s Cabra


Minor: 1 Victor Esosa (St Joseph’s Drogheda), 2 Joseph Prendergast (Temple Carrig), 3 Peter Hamilton (Newbridge College). Teams – 1 St Joseph’s Drogheda 122, 2 Salesian Celbridge 130, 3 Castleknock CC 134.

Junior: 1 Sean Donoghue (St Declan’s Cabra), 2 Alex O’Floinn (Colaiste Eoin), 3 Matthew Whelan (Naas CBS). Teams – 1  Colaiste Mhuire Mullingar 101, 2. St Aidan’s CBS 127, 3. CBS Naas 155.

Inter: 1 Adam Fitzpatrick (St Kieran’s Kilkenny), 2 Shay McEvoy (St Kieran’s Kilkenny), 3 Shane Coffey (Naas CBS). Teams – 1 St Kieran’s Kilkenny 34, 2 Colaiste Mhuire Mullingar 63, 3 St Aidan’s CBS 91.

Senior: 1 Sean O’Leary (St Aidan’s CBS), 2 Cormac Dalton (St Joseph’s Rochfortbridge), 3 Jamie Battle (Colaiste Mhuire Mullingar). Teams – 1      Colaiste Mhuire Mullingar 59, 2 St Aidan’s CBS 98, 3 Knockbeg College 100.
Best Overall – 1. Colaiste Mhuire Mullingar 17, 2 St Aidan’s CBS 14, 3. St Kieran’s Kilkenny 11.5.

, ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply